Make Your Own Snow Cone Syrup for Slushes

Slushes. The highlight of my childhood. We have a penguin style slush maker or to be more honest, ice crusher. My daughter loves it, today it was bribery. If she sat still while we were waiting she could make a slush with real syrup, not just a bit of squash over the top. She sat still for an hour!

 Toy Infinity 
It worked out really well. It is far too sugary for me but the 3 year old loved it.

Here’s the recipe:

1 cup of sugar

1 cup of water

3-4 tablespoons of squash (I used the double concentrate). This is to your taste, use more or less as you wish.

A splash of food colouring (optional)

I made a normal syrup and let it reduce by half so it was quite thick. Turn off the heat and add the squash. I added 4 tablespoons and for me it’s too strong, the kids don’t agree. Cool it in the freezer if you are short on time before using.

There are some fabulous squash flavours. This one was Fruit Salad but Vimto makes a lovely syrup too. You don’t have to have any fancy essences or extracts to make a syrup, we don’t always have those in our cupboards, but I bet we all have squash.

I store any left overs in the fridge for a couple of weeks.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

